Iconoclassic Records

Skip to content

Welcome to Iconoclassic Records. Follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Main Menu

The Guess Who

Wheatfield Soul

Expanded Edition Remastered CD with Bonus Tracks | ICON 1008

  • Originally released 1969
  • 40th Anniversary Edition
  • Includes the timeless hit “These Eyes”
  • 3 bonus tracks
  • Liner notes feature exclusive commentary from Burton Cummings, Randy Bachman, Jim Kale & Garry Peterson
Out of Print

Track Listing

  • 1. These Eyes
  • 2. Pink Wine Sparkles in the Glass
  • 3. I Found Her in a Star
  • 4. Friends of Mine
  • 5. When You Touch Me
  • 6. A Wednesday In Your Garden
  • 7. Lightfoot
  • 8. Love and a Yellow Rose
  • 9. Maple Fudge
  • 10. We’re Coming to Dinner

Bonus Tracks

  • 11. When Friends Fall Out (Nimbus 9 single A-side)
  • 12. Guess Who Blues (Nimbus 9 single B-side, first time on CD)
  • 13. Of a Dropping Pin (Nimbus 9 single A-side, first time on CD)


  • Burton Cummings – lead vocals, rhythm guitar, keyboards, flute
  • Randy Bachman – lead guitar, backing vocals,
  • Jim Kale – bass, backing vocals
  • Garry Peterson – drums

“We used to go down east to Toronto and we were kind of looked at as farm boys, and I was a little intimidated. I was still a teenager and felt a little out of place in Toronto, and when we got criticized or looked at weird I’d always say, ‘Yeah, but we got Wheatfield Soul…'” – Burton Cummings

Wheatfield Soul was The Guess Who’s U.S. debut album and launched the Canadian group to international stardom with the classic Top 10 hit “These Eyes.” The classic lineup of The Guess Who (with Burton Cummings and Randy Bachman) display their eclectic mix of influences on Wheatfield Soul, numbering pop, garage rock, Doors style psychedelia, jazz, and folk.

Recorded and mixed in just 4 days in summer 1968, Wheatfield Soul, may have been The Guess Who’s U.S. debut, but the band were by no means novices. A year earlier, the group had landed a gig as house band on a nationally televised weekly music program in Canada, called “Let’s Go.” Encouraged to contribute songs by the show’s producer, the Bachman Cummings writing partnership began to develop. Before long, the group caught the attention of McCann-Erickson Advertising Agency jingle coordinator and producer, Jack Richardson. Richardson remembers, “I took out a $5000 second mortgage on my house, which in 1968 was a lot of money, to take the band down to Phil Ramone’s A & R Studios in New York City and make an entire album.” Richardson’s gamble was rewarded when The Guess Who landed a record contract with RCA Records, and Wheatfield Soul’s, opening track “These Eyes” became a massive hit.

Iconoclassic Records’ 40th Anniversary Edition of Wheatfield Soul, has been digitally remastered from the original master tapes and features extensive liner notes with exclusive interviews and song commentary from all of the band members. Additionally, three rare and sought-after single sides (two making their worldwide CD debut) have been added as bonus tracks, making this the definitive edition of a landmark album.