Iconoclassic Records

Skip to content

Welcome to Iconoclassic Records. Follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Main Menu

Rocky Burnette

The Son of Rock and Roll

Remastered CD with Bonus Tracks | ICON 1064

  • Originally released 1979
  • First time on CD worldwide!
  • Includes the worldwide Top 10 hit “Tired of Toein’ the Line” (#8 U.S., #1 Australia, #3 South Africa)
  • Liner notes by Bill Dahl include new interview with Rocky Burnette
  • Digitally remastered by Nick Robbins
  • 2 bonus tracks including Rocky’s cover of Sam Cooke’s “Shake”
  • Documentary film 'Raised On Rock: The Burnette Family Legacy' available on Amazon
Buy now

Track Listing

  • 1. Tired of Toein’ the Line
  • 2. Anywhere Your Body Goes
  • 3. Fallin’ in Love (Bein’ Friends)
  • 4. Angel in Chambray
  • 5. Bertha Lou
  • 6. Because of You
  • 7. The Boogie Man
  • 8. Baby Tonight
  • 9. You’re So Easy to Love
  • 10. A Woman in Love
  • 11. Clowns from Outer Space
  • 12. Roll Like a Wheel

Bonus Tracks

  • 13. Boogie Down in Mobile, Alabama (non-LP b-side of “Tired of Toein’ the Line” single)
  • 14. Shake (previously unreleased)

Special Guests

  • Dave Edmunds - Guitar
  • Billy Burnette - Guitar
  • Mel Collins - Saxophone

Seldom has an album title rung as true as The Son of Rock and Roll.

Rocky Burnette grew up around the music from day one. His father was rockabilly hell-raiser Johnny Burnette, whose mid-’50s sides for the Coral label as front man for the Memphis-based Rock ’n Roll Trio helped pioneer the genre. Uncle Dorsey Burnette, no slouch as a singer himself, was that ferocious crew’s bass slapper. Thus, Rocky learned from the best in the business when it came to the fine art of rocking the house—priceless knowledge that defined his 1979 debut LP, which contained the Top Ten hit “Tired of Toein’ the Line.”

For its first ever CD release anywhere in the world, The Son of Rock and Roll has been remastered by Nick Robbins from the original master tapes, features new liner notes by Bill Dahl with exclusive commentary from Rocky Burnette within a memorabilia-packed booklet, and adds two bonus tracks, including Rocky’s previously unreleased cover of Sam Cooke’s “Shake.”