Iconoclassic Records

Skip to content

Welcome to Iconoclassic Records. Follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Main Menu

Mott the Hoople

The Hoople

Expanded Edition Remastered CD with Bonus Tracks | ICON 1006

  • Originally released 1974
  • Mott The Hoople’s final studio album
  • Features the hits "The Golden Age of Rock 'n' Roll" and "Roll Away the Stone"
  • 7 bonus tracks including MTH's final studio recordings featuring Mick Ronson
  • Digitally remastered
  • Liner notes by Campbell Devine
Buy now

Track Listing

  • 1. The Golden Age of Rock 'n' Roll
  • 2. Marionette
  • 3. Alice
  • 4. Crash Street Kidds
  • 5. Born Late ’58
  • 6. Trudi's Song
  • 7. Pearl 'n' Roy (England)
  • 8. Through the Looking Glass
  • 9. Roll Away the Stone

Bonus Tracks

  • 10. Where Do You All Come From (Non-LP B-side of “Roll Away the Stone”)
  • 11. Rest in Peace (Non-LP B-side of “The Golden Age Of Rock ‘n’ Roll”)
  • 12. Foxy Foxy (Non-LP single A-side)
  • 13. (Do You Remember) The Saturday Gigs (Non-LP single A-side)
  • 14. The Saturday Kids (Work in progress mixes)
  • 15. Lounge Lizzard (Aborted single B-side)
  • 16. American Pie/The Golden Age of Rock 'n' Roll (Live from Broadway)


  • Ian Hunter – vocals, rhythm guitar, piano
  • Pete Overend Watts – bass guitar, vocals, lead vocals on "Born Late ’58", rhythm guitar, 12-string guitar
  • Dale "Buffin" Griffin – drums, vocals, percussion
  • Ariel Bender – lead guitar, vocals, slide guitar
  • Morgan Fisher – keyboards, synthesizer

Special Guests

  • Howie Casey – tenor saxophone on 1, 2, 3, 7
  • Andy Mackay (Roxy Music) – baritone & tenor saxophone on 1, 2, 7
  • Mike Hurwitz – cello on 2
  • Lynsey De Paul – backing vocals on 3, 9
  • Mick Ralphs – backing vocals on 7, rhythm guitar on 9
  • Graham Preskett – violin on 8, conductor on 8, tubular bells on 8
  • Sue Glover, Sunny Leslie, Barry St. John – backing vocals on 1, 8
  • Thunderthighs (Karen Friedman, Dari Lalou & Casey Synge) – backing vocals on 9, Mick Ronson – guitar on 13, 14, 15

The last in the triumvirate of Mott’s classic glitter rock albums, The Hoople (1974) was the band’s third album release on CBS/Columbia Records, following the All the Young Dudes and Mott LPs. The Hoople featured a refocused band after the departure of Mick Ralphs (who left to join Bad Company) and the arrival of Ariel Bender (aka Luther Grosvenor, from Spooky Tooth). Singer Ian Hunter was now established as the undisputed band leader and his songwriting progresses by leaps and bounds on this recording, providing a preview of what would later become an outstanding solo career.

Kicking off with the goodtime rocker “The Golden Age of Rock ’n’ Roll,” The Hoople immediately plunges into the dramatic “Marionette,” bassist Overend Watts’ rocker “Born Late ’58” and a reworked version of earlier single “Roll Away the Stone.” This special expanded reissue features seven bonus tracks, including studio recordings with Mick Ronson (who had replaced Bender on lead guitar) plus a live version of “Golden Age…” prefaced by a snippet of Don McLean’s “American Pie.”

The Hoople has been digitally remastered by Ray Staff and Vic Anesini. The 12-page full color booklet features all of the imagery from the original 1974 LP release, in addition to many images of rare memorabilia. Mott The Hoople/Ian Hunter authority Campbell Devine provides illuminating liner notes.