Iconoclassic Records

Skip to content

Welcome to Iconoclassic Records. Follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Main Menu

Dixie Dregs

The Great Spectacular

White Vinyl LP | ICON 1079

  • Originally released 1975
  • Dixie Dregs' private press debut album
  • Original recordings of Dregs classics that would be re-recorded for their Capricorn and Arista albums
  • First-ever LP reissue
  • White Vinyl
  • Record Store Day 2024 release
  • Autographed Edition available exclusively at Dixie Dregs concerts
Buy now

Track Listing

  • Side 1
  • 1. Refried Funky Chicken
  • 2. Holiday
  • 3. Wages Of Weirdness
  • 4. T.O. Witcher
  • 5. The Great Spectacular

  • Side 2
  • 6. Ice Cakes
  • 7. Leprechaun Promenade
  • 8. Country House Shuffle
  • 9. What If
  • 10. Kathreen


  • Steve Morse - Guitars
  • Andy West - Bass Guitar
  • Allen Sloan - Violin
  • Rod Morgenstein - Drums

Special Guests

  • Frank Josephs - Electric Piano

The Great Spectacular is Dixie Dregs’ original 1975 demo debut album, recorded at the University of Miami as a class project, pressed independently by the band, and distributed locally in limited quantities.

Yet The Great Spectacular also functions as a greatest hits of sorts, debuting tracks which would later be re-recorded across Dixie Dregs’ classic 1977-1980 Capricorn and Arista albums, as well as during guitarist/band leader Steve Morse’s stint in Kansas. It includes the first recordings of key Dregs tracks including “What If,” “Leprechaun Promenade,” “Holiday,” “Refried Funky Chicken,” “Country House Shuffle,” and more.

Original copies of The Great Spectacular are rare collectors’ items. For its first-ever LP reissue, the album has been pressed on white vinyl.

The four original Dixie Dregs members from this record will be touring beginning in April 2024, with Dream Theater’s Jordan Rudess joining the band on keyboards.