Iconoclassic Records

Skip to content

Welcome to Iconoclassic Records. Follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Main Menu

The Tubes

The Completion Backward Principle

Expanded Edition Remastered CD with Bonus Tracks | ICON 1021

  • Originally released 1981
  • The Tubes’ breakout album
  • Contains the hits “Talk to Ya Later” and “Don’t Want to Wait Anymore”
  • Liner notes feature exclusive interviews with Fee Waybill and Roger Steen
  • Remastered with 4 bonus tracks
  • Produced by David Foster
Out of Print

Track Listing

  • 1. Talk to Ya Later
  • 2. Sushi Girl
  • 3. Amnesia
  • 4. Mr. Hate
  • 5. Attack of the Fifty Foot Woman
  • 6. Think About Me
  • 7. A Matter of Pride
  • 8. Don't Want to Wait Anymore
  • 9. Power Tools
  • 10. Let's Make Some Noise

Bonus Tracks

  • 11. Tube Talk
  • 12. What's Wrong with Me
  • 13. Gonna Get It Next Time
  • 14. Sports Fans


  • Bill Spooner - guitar, vocals
  • Michael Cotten – synthesizers
  • Fee Waybill – vocals
  • Roger Steen - guitar, vocals
  • Prairie Prince – drums
  • Vince Welnick - keyboards vocals
  • Rick Anderson - bass

Special Guests

  • Steve Lukather - guitars on "Talk to Ya Later"
  • Stanley Paterson - sampled vocals on "Talk to Ya Later"
  • Bill Champlin - backing vocals

The Tubes’ first album for Capitol/EMI found them paired with up and coming producer and songwriter, David Foster in search of a more commercial sound. Their A&M albums had been very strong but failed to ignite the charts or expand fan interest beyond their rabid cult. 1981’s The Completion Backward Principle changed all that with “Talk To Ya Later” (an AOR radio smash) and the Top 40 chart success of the single “Don’t Want To Wait Anymore.”

A favorite of many Tubes fans, this is a unique album in their catalog in that it married their quirky songwriting and stage persona with a commercial appeal that would be emphasized more heavily on their next project. The breakout that the band had been searching for with their backs to the wall had finally arrived.

This remastered and expanded release includes B-sides and the follow-up single to the album. Liner notes by noted rock journalist Brett Milano include fresh interviews with band members Fee Waybill and Roger Steen.