Iconoclassic Records

Skip to content

Welcome to Iconoclassic Records. Follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Main Menu

Canned Heat

The Canned Heat Cook Book (The Best of Canned Heat)

Remastered CD with Bonus Track | ICON 1047

  • Originally released 1969
  • Canned Heat’s Greatest Hits
  • Includes the hits “On the Road Again,” “Going Up the Country” and “Let’s Work Together”
  • Features the band’s classic original lineup
Out of Print

Track Listing

  • 1. Bullfrog Blues
  • 2. Rollin’ and Tumblin’
  • 3. Going Up the Country
  • 4. Amphetamine Annie
  • 5. Time Was
  • 6. Boogie Music
  • 7. On the Road Again
  • 8. Same All Over
  • 9. Sic ‘em Pigs
  • 10. Fried Hockey Boogie

Bonus Tracks

  • 11. Let’s Work Together


  • Bob “The Bear” Hite – vocals
  • Alan “Blind Owl” Wilson – guitar, vocals, harmonica
  • Larry “The Mole” Taylor – bass
  • Henry Vestine – lead guitar
  • Frank Cook, Fito de la Parra – Drums

Special Guests

  • Jim Horn – flute on “Going Up the Country”
  • Dr. John – horn arrangements & piano on “Boogie Music”

The Canned Heat Cook Book was originally released in 1969 to recap the initial chart success of this talented group that was based in Los Angeles and steeped in the blues tradition. The album is expanded by the addition of their 1970 hit “Let’s Work Together” (in true stereo), which essentially makes this collection Canned Heat’s Greatest Hits.

The album also features the 1968 Top 20 hits, “On the Road Again” and “Going Up the Country,” which was also featured in the Woodstock movie and soundtrack album. “Time Was” charted in 1969 and the compilation also includes the long jam that the band dubbed “Fried Hockey Boogie.”

This expanded edition of the album includes an all new mastering by Vic Anesini and a faithful recreation of the original cover art done by Dean Torrence of Jan & Dean fame.