Iconoclassic Records

Skip to content

Welcome to Iconoclassic Records. Follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Main Menu

Three Dog Night

Suitable for Framing

Remastered CD with Bonus Tracks | ICON 1037

  • Originally released 1969
  • Features the hits “Eli’s Coming,” “Celebrate” and “Easy to Be Hard”
  • Includes songs written by Elton John & Bernie Taupin, Laura Nyro, Dave Mason, and Sam Cooke
  • Guest appearances from the horn section of the band Chicago
  • Digitally remastered by Vic Anesini
Out of Print

Track Listing

  • 1. Feelin’ Alright
  • 2. Lady Samantha
  • 3. Dreaming Isn’t Good for You
  • 4. A Change Is Gonna Come
  • 5. Eli’s Coming
  • 6. Easy to Be Hard
  • 7. Ain’t That a Lotta Love
  • 8. King Solomon’s Minds
  • 9. Circle for a Landing
  • 10. Celebrate

Bonus Tracks

  • 11. Eli’s Coming (Stereo Single Version)
  • 12. Celebrate (Mono Single Version)


  • Danny Hutton – lead vocals (tracks 1,3, 9, 10), background vocals
  • Chuck Negron – lead vocals (tracks 1, 2, 6, 10), background vocals
  • Cory Wells – lead vocals (tracks 1, 4, 5, 7, 10), background vocals
  • Mike Allsup – guitar
  • Jimmy Greenspoon – keyboards
  • Joe Schermie – bass
  • Floyd Sneed – drums, percussion

Special Guests

  • James Pankow of Chicago– trombone on "Celebrate" and "Feelin' Alright"
  • Lee Loughnane of Chicago – trumpet on "Celebrate" and "Feelin' Alright"
  • Walter Parazaider of Chicago – saxophone on "Celebrate" and "Feelin' Alright"

Three Dog Night followed the runaway success of their 1968 debut album and its huge third single “One” with a return to the studio to create their next album. During their search for new material to record the band’s choices were impeccable. At the time they were entering the studio in 1969, the musical Hair was a smash show on Broadway. They chose to record the ballad “Easy to Be Hard” from the play and it quickly raced up the as the first single from the album Suitable for Framing. Three Dog Night was clearly on a roll! The success of the first single assured the band that its second long player would ship gold.

The second single chosen was penned by New York songstress Laura Nyro and “Eli’s Coming” gave Three Dog Night another massive hit to add to the success of their second album. The final single “Celebrate” also soared up the charts and became the band’s extended encore song for years to come. The other outside songwriters used here were Elton John & Bernie Taupin, Sam Cooke and Traffic, once again.

The release includes an essay by author Paul Myers which includes fresh interviews with group members. A selected track by track commentary adds further insight into the process. All new mastering by Vic Anesini and the album is expanded with single mixes.