Iconoclassic Records

Skip to content

Welcome to Iconoclassic Records. Follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Main Menu

Laura Nyro

Season of Lights…Laura Nyro in Concert

Expanded Edition Remastered CD with Bonus Tracks | ICON 1002

  • Originally released 1977
  • Expanded edition with 7 bonus tracks
  • Live versions of songs from her classic albums Eli and the Thirteenth Confession, New York Tendaberry, and Christmas and the Beads of Sweat
  • Two songs presented in unedited form
  • Liner notes by Laura Nyro biographer Michelle Kort
Out of Print

Track Listing

  • 1. Money
  • 2. Sweet Lovin’ Baby *
  • 3. And When I Die
  • 4. The Morning News *
  • 5. Upstairs By A Chinese Lamp
  • 6. I Am The Blues *
  • 7. When I Was A Freeport And You Were The Main Drag
  • 8. Captain St. Lucifer **
  • 9. Smile *
  • 10. Mars *
  • 11. Sweet Blindness
  • 12. The Cat-Song **
  • 13. Emmie
  • 14. The Confession
  • 15. Timer *
  • 16. Midnite Blue * (includes unlisted bonus performance: the solo version of Timer)
  • * additional performance, not on original LP
  • ** unedited performance


  • Laura Nyro - vocals, piano, musical director
  • John Tropea - electric guitar
  • Richard Davis - bass
  • Andy Newmark - drums
  • Carter "C.C." Collins - percussion
  • Nydia Mata - congas
  • Mike Mainieri - clavinet, marimba, vibraphone
  • Jean Fineberg, Jeff King - saxophone
  • Ellen Seeling - trumpet

Originally conceived as a double live album, but released as a 10-song single LP in 1977, the Iconoclassic Records reissue of restores the set to its full 16-song length. The single LP version as originally released contained a solo piano rendition of “Timer,” whereas a full band performance of that same song was slated for release on the double album version. The Iconoclassic CD includes both the solo and full band versions.

One of the factors that makes this live release so compelling is the involvement of jazz players (John Tropea, Richard Davis, and Mike Mainieri) that had performed on Nyro’s then-current studio album Smile. As incredible as Laura was when performing live solo with just her piano as accompaniment, this is the place to experience her interaction with a full live band.

Iconoclassic Records’ deluxe CD reissue of Season of Lights…Laura Nyro in Concert features signature tracks from her early period (“And When I Die,” “Sweet Blindness,” “Emmie,” etc.) mixed with newer songs from Smile and exclusive material like “The Morning News” which was never recorded in the studio and appears only here. Over 75 minutes of music remastered by Grammy® Award winner Vic Anesini. Includes a 16-page booklet with full lyrics and liner notes by Nyro biographer Michele Kort.