Iconoclassic Records

Skip to content

Welcome to Iconoclassic Records. Follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Main Menu

The Soul Searchers

Salt Of The Earth

Remastered CD | ICON 1080

  • Originally released 1974
  • 50th Anniversary Edition
  • Lead vocals by The Godfather of Go-Go, Chuck Brown (“Bustin’ Loose”)
  • Features the heavily sampled “Ashley’s Roachclip”
  • Liner notes by Justin Richmond (Wax Poetics)
  • Digitally remastered
  • First time on CD in the U.S.
Pre Order

Track Listing

  • 1. I Rolled It You Hold It
  • 2. Blow Your Whistle
  • 3. Close To You
  • 4. Funk To The Folks
  • 5. Ain’t It Heavy
  • 6. Windsong
  • 7. Ashley’s Roachclip
  • 8. We Share
  • 9. If It Ain’t Funky


  • Bennie Braxton - organ, vocals
  • Chuck Brown - guitar, lead vocals
  • John Buchanan - trombone, pianos, percussion, vocals, synthesizer
  • Lino Druitt - congas, bongos, percussion
  • John Euwell - bass
  • Lloyd Pinchback - flute, saxes, percussion
  • Kenneth Scoggins - drums, percussion
  • Donald Tillery - trumpet, percussion, vocals

50th Anniversary Edition of the classic sophomore album by D.C.-based Funk and Go-Go legends, The Soul Searchers. Originally released in 1974 by Sussex Records, Salt Of The Earth spotlights the Godfather of Go-Go, Chuck Brown, on gritty funk jams “Blow Your Whistle” and “Funk To The Folks.” The instrumental “Ashley’s Roachclip” features perhaps the most sampled drum break in history, instantly recognizable as the basis for genre-spanning hits by Run-D.M.C., Duran Duran, Milli Vanilli, Ice Cube, Mick Jagger, P.M. Dawn, New Order, Eric B. & Rakim, EMF, LL Cool J, and many, many more. Beyond its grooves, the album surprises with the tender balladry of “We Share” and a soulful rendition of Bacharach and David’s “Close To You.” This first-ever U.S. CD reissue of the highly influential Salt Of The Earth features new liner notes by Justin Richmond (Wax Poetics).