Iconoclassic Records

Skip to content

Welcome to Iconoclassic Records. Follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Main Menu

The Tubes

Outside Inside

Expanded Edition Remastered CD with Bonus Tracks | ICON 1027

  • Originally released 1983
  • Includes the classic Top 10 ’80s hit “She’s a Beauty”
  • Remastered with 4 bonus tracks
  • Includes both versions of “The Monkey Time”
  • Produced by David Foster
Out of Print

Track Listing

  • 1. She's a Beauty
  • 2. No Not Again
  • 3. Out of the Business
  • 4. The Monkey Time (with Martha Davis of The Motels)
  • 5. Glass House
  • 6. Wild Women of Wongo
  • 7. Tip of My Tongue
  • 8. Fantastic Delusion
  • 9. Drums
  • 10. Theme Park
  • 11. Outside Lookin' Inside

Bonus Tracks

  • 12. When You're Ready to Come
  • 13. Keyboard Kids
  • 14. Satellite
  • 15. The Monkey Time (single version, with Michele Gray)


  • Rick Anderson – bass
  • Michael Cotten – synthesizer
  • Mingo Lewis – percussion
  • Prairie Prince – drums
  • Bill Spooner – guitar, vocals
  • Roger Steen – guitar, vocals
  • Fee Waybill – vocals
  • Vince Welnick – keyboards

Special Guests

  • Bill Champlin, Bobby Kimball, Maurice White, Patti Austin – background vocals
  • Martha Davis – duet lead vocals on “The Monkey Time” (album version)
  • Michelle Gray – duet lead vocals on “The Monkey Time” (single version)
  • Steve Lukather, Jay Graydon, David Williams – guitar
  • Freddy Washington, Nathan East – bass
  • David Foster, James Newton Howard, David Paich, Steve Porcaro – keyboards
  • Chuck Findley, Gary Grant, Gary Herbig, Jerry Hey, Bill Reichenbach Jr., Larry Williams – horns

Commercial success had finally arrived for The Tubes with the release of The Completion Backward Principle. The rock radio airplay and Top 40 success generated by that release set the stage for a return to the studio with producer David Foster attempting to recapture the magic for 1983’s Outside Inside.

The Tubes did not disappoint as the album came screaming out of the gate with “She’s a Beauty,” the biggest hit the band would ever have. The single went Top 10 and was a #1 rock record so the band now had both sides of the FM/AM radio dial fully covered, as well as MTV. The funky follow-up single “Tip of My Tongue” also enjoyed chart success and the album featured those excellent album tracks that we had come to expect from The Tubes, several of which remain in their current set list to this day.

This expanded edition of the album includes all new mastering and an extensive essay with fresh interviews with the band members. The release is expanded with four bonus tracks including single B-sides, single versions and the ultra-rare Tubes version of “Satellite.”