Iconoclassic Records

Skip to content

Welcome to Iconoclassic Records. Follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Main Menu

Grand Funk Railroad

Mark, Don & Mel 1969-71

Remastered 2 CD | ICON 1023

  • Originally released 1972
  • Grand Funk Railroad’s Greatest Hits Volume One
  • First time on compact disc
  • Features the hits "Closer to Home (I'm Your Captain)" "Time Machine" and "Footstompin' Music"
  • All original album art included.
Out of Print

CD 1 Track Listing

  • 1. Time Machine
  • 2. Into the Sun
  • 3. Heartbreaker
  • 4. Feelin' Alright
  • 5. Footstompin' Music
  • 6. Paranoid
  • 7. Loneliness

CD 2 Track Listing

  • 1. Are You Ready (Live)
  • 2. Mean Mistreater (Live)
  • 3. T.N.U.C. (Live)
  • 4. Inside Looking Out
  • 5. Closer to Home (I'm Your Captain)


  • Mark Farner – guitar, vocals, keyboards, harmonica
  • Don Brewer – drums, vocals
  • Mel Schacher – bass

Following the enormous success of the first six Grand Funk Railroad albums, Capitol Records decided that it was time for a summary of the first stage of the band’s career and a two-LP best of was assembled. The next studio album, Phoenix, would feature keyboardist Craig Frost, who would eventually become the fourth member of the band so this release is comprised of the power trio era hits.

Mark, Don & Mel features the classic tracks “Time Machine,” “Heartbreaker” and “Paranoid,” which received heavy FM and AM radio play back in the day. The album also includes the band’s first truly huge Top 40 single, “Footstompin’ Music.” The closing track is the epic full-length version of “Closer to Home/I’m Your Captain.”

This release marks the first worldwide legitimate appearance of Mark, Don & Mel 1969-71 on compact disc and features a new mastering done especially for this release by Grammy® Award winning engineer, Vic Anesini.