Iconoclassic Records

Skip to content

Welcome to Iconoclassic Records. Follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Main Menu


Live: The Road Goes Ever On

Expanded Edition Remastered CD with Bonus Track | ICON 1048

  • Originally released 1972
  • Live performances from Woodstock and Atlanta Pop festivals
  • Featuring the classic Mountain lineup of Leslie West, Felix Pappalardi, Corky Laing and Steve Knight
  • Includes a 20-minute bonus track
  • Digitally remastered by Vic Anesini
Out of Print

Track Listing

  • 1. Long Red (Live at Woodstock, August 16, 1969)
  • 2. Waiting to Take You Away (Live at Woodstock, August 16, 1969)
  • 3. Crossroader
  • 4. Nantucket Sleighride

Bonus Tracks

  • 5. Stormy Monday (Bonus Track - Live at the Atlanta Pop Festival, July 3, 1970)


  • Leslie West – guitar, vocals
  • Felix Pappalardi – bass, vocals
  • Steve Knight – keyboards
  • N. D. Smart – drums (tracks 1, 2)
  • Corky Laing – drums (tracks 3, 4, 5)

Windfall assembled this outstanding live document of the original version of the band Mountain following their breakup. The album features a couple of tracks from their landmark performance at the Woodstock festival and the epic centerpiece of the album, a majestic extended version of “Nantucket Sleighride.”

Leslie West, Felix Pappalardi, Corky Laing and Steve Knight were riding their first wave of success when these performances were documented. This version of the band could flat-out cook and the extended cuts show that they knew how to jam with a sense of power and dynamics. The performances were mastered from the original tapes by Vic Anesini and the liner notes by Ralph Chapman place the whole project in the proper perspective. The album is fleshed out by an extended bonus performance of “Stormy Monday” that was culled from another early seventies festival performance.