Iconoclassic Records

Skip to content

Welcome to Iconoclassic Records. Follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Main Menu

Jeff Beck Group

Jeff Beck Group (aka The Orange Album)

Remastered CD | ICON 1040

  • Originally released 1972
  • The second Jeff Beck Group featuring virtuosos Max Middleton & Cozy Powell
  • Produced by Steve Cropper
  • Remastered by Vic Anesini
  • Liner notes by Paul Myers
Out of Print

Track Listing

  • 1. Ice Cream Cakes
  • 2. Glad All Over
  • 3. Tonight I'll Be Staying Here With You
  • 4. Sugar Cane
  • 5. I Can't Give Back the Love I Feel for You
  • 6. Going Down
  • 7. I Got to Have a Song
  • 8. Highways
  • 9. Definitely Maybe


  • Jeff Beck – guitar
  • Cozy Powell – drums
  • Max Middleton – keyboards
  • Clive Chaman – bass
  • Bobby Tench – vocals

The second album by this configuration of the Jeff Beck Group was produced by Steve Cropper of Booker T and the MGs fame. The album features a continuation of the group’s emphasis on compositions that move in a jazzier, more R&B direction.

The centerpiece for the album, “Goin’ Down” could easily been recorded by the first edition of the Beck group and it received heavy FM radio airplay in major US markets. Other standout tracks included were the sublime instrumental “Definitely Maybe,” which hinted strongly at Jeff’s future direction, and a soulful reading of Bob Dylan’s “Tonight I’ll Be Staying Here with You.”