Iconoclassic Records

Skip to content

Welcome to Iconoclassic Records. Follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Main Menu

Dan Hartman

It Hurts To Be In Love

Remastered CD with Bonus Tracks | ICON 1075

  • Originally released 1981
  • First Time on CD Worldwide
  • Features the charting singles "Heaven In Your Arms," "It Hurts To Be In Love,” and “All I Need”
  • Remastered by Vic Anesini from the original master tapes
  • Includes 2 rare album outtakes as bonus tracks
  • New liner notes by Joe Marchese (The Second Disc)
Buy now

Track Listing

  • 1. It Hurts To Be In Love
  • 2. Heaven in Your Arms
  • 3. My Desire
  • 4. Forever In A Moment
  • 5. All I Need
  • 6. Pick It Up
  • 7. I Still Remember
  • 8. Positive Forces
  • 9. Letter In A Song
  • 10. Hello Again

Bonus Tracks

  • 11. Rejection
  • 12. Go-Go


  • Dan Hartman - vocals & keyboards
  • Blanche Napoleon - vocals
  • Art Wood - drums
  • John Pierce - bass
  • Erik Cartwright - guitars
  • Jeff Bova - synthesizers

Dan Hartman’s restless artistry took yet another twist with 1981’s It Hurts To Be In Love, which plays as a tribute to classic Brill Building songwriting sensibilities while doubling as a concept album on unrequited love. A revival of Gene Pitney’s 1964 hit “It Hurts To Be In Love” sets the scene, before the album alternates lovelorn ballads with more upbeat and quirkier tracks, each filled with sumptuous melodies and Hartman’s emotionally expressive vocals and lyrics. Hartman even reassures his disco fans that he hasn’t forgotten them on “I Still Remember.”

“This music is closer to me because it has more romantic sensitivity than I’ve allowed myself to show in past productions. I’m really pouring it all out,” Hartman commented at the time of It Hurts To Be In Love’s release. “I guess you could say there’s more Dan Hartman in there than any other record I’ve done.”

For its worldwide CD debut, It Hurts To Be In Love has been expanded with two album outtakes, both of which originally appeared on a rare publishing sampler in 1981.