Iconoclassic Records

Skip to content

Welcome to Iconoclassic Records. Follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Main Menu

The Isley Brothers

Go For Your Guns

Remastered CD with Bonus Tracks | ICON 1045

  • Originally released 1977
  • Top 10, Platinum-certified smash hit
  • Includes the hits “The Pride,” “Footsteps in the Dark,’ “Voyage to Atlantis” and “Livin’ in the Life”
  • Features the Isleys’ legendary 3+3 lineup
  • In-depth liner notes by A. Scott Galloway
  • Digitally remastered plus 3 bonus tracks
Buy now

Track Listing

  • 1. The Pride Parts 1 &2
  • 2. Footsteps in the Dark Parts 1 & 2
  • 3. Tell Me When You Need It Again Parts 1 & 2
  • 4. Climbin’ Up the Ladder Parts 1 & 2
  • 5. Voyage to Atlantis
  • 6. Livin’ in the Life
  • 7. Go for Your Guns

Bonus Tracks

  • 8. The Pride (Disco mix)
  • 9. Voyage to Atlantis (Mono single version)
  • 10. Livin’ in the Life/Go for Your Guns (Disco version)


  • Ronald, Rudolph and O’Kelly Isley – vocals
  • Chris Jasper, Marvin and Ernie Isley – background vocals on “The Pride”
  • Ernie Isley – guitars, drums, shouts on “Climbin’ Up the Ladder”
  • Marvin Isley – bass
  • Chris Jasper – acoustic and electric piano, clavinet, ARP synthesizer, additional keyboards, bass on “Tell Me When You Need It Again”
  • with Everett Collins – congas on “Tell Me When You Need It Again”

Go for Your Guns was the fifth album by the 3+3 line-up of the Isley Brothers and was a landmark album for the group on many levels. A mixture of molten funk tunes and beautiful ballads weaving in and out of each other led to massive sales and huge chart success.

The album featured smash R&B and pop hits that continued the rise of the Isleys’ popularity in the mid-seventies. “The Pride” hit the #1 spot on the R&B charts and was followed by “Livin’ in the Life,” which went all the way to #4 on the same chart. In addition, both singles did very respectably on the pop charts. Ernie Isley’s guitar showcase “Voyage to Atlantis” also charted R&B and “Footsteps in the Dark” became one of the most sampled tracks of the rap era, most notably forming the basis of Ice Cube’s biggest hit “It Was a Good Day.” All leading to an album that climbed to the top of the R&B charts and crossed over to #6 on the pop chart.

In-depth liner notes by A. Scott Galloway include reflections from band members Ernie Isley and Chris Jasper. Brilliantly remastered by Mark Wilder at Battery Studios in New York City.