Iconoclassic Records

Skip to content

Welcome to Iconoclassic Records. Follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Main Menu

Canned Heat

Future Blues

Expanded Edition Remastered CD with Bonus Tracks | ICON 1046

  • Originally released 1970
  • Includes the hit single “Let’s Work Together”
  • Features lead guitarist Harvey Mandel (Rolling Stones - John Mayall)
  • 4 bonus tracks
  • Digitally remastered by Vic Anesini
Buy now

Track Listing

  • 1. Sugar Bee
  • 2. Shake It and Break It
  • 3. That’s All Right Mama
  • 4. My Time Ain’t Long
  • 5. Skat
  • 6. Let’s Work Together
  • 7. London Blues
  • 8. So Sad (The World’s in a Tangle)
  • 9. Future Blues

Bonus Tracks

  • 10. Poor Moon
  • 11. Wooly Bully
  • 12. Let’s Work Together (Long Version)
  • 13. Human Condition


  • Bob “The Bear” Hite – Vocals
  • Alan “Blind Owl” Wilson – Slide Guitar, Vocals, Harmonica
  • Larry “The Mole” Taylor – Bass
  • Fito de la Parra – Drums
  • Harvey Mandel – Lead Guitar

Special Guests

  • Dr. John – Piano
  • Horn Arrangements on “Skat” and “London Blues”

Canned Heat approached their fifth studio album with great care following the disappointing sales of the album Hallelujah. Despite some great material the band had failed to come up with a hit to follow up the chart success of “On the Road Again” and “Going Up the County.” Once they covered Wilbert Harrison’s “Let’s Work Together” they were sure that they had another hit on their hands.

The boogie and jams remained, but they were now more concise. Henry Vestine had left the band and Harvey Mandel had joined as lead guitarist. The band with Mandel had caused a stir when they played the Woodstock festival among others in the summer of 1969. Sadly, Alan Wilson would pass away shortly after the completion of Future Blues. Iconoclassic’s expanded edition of this great album features a true stereo version of the hit single “Let’s Work Together,” as well as the long version that remained unreleased for years. First time U.S. CD release with all new mastering and liner notes.