Iconoclassic Records

Skip to content

Welcome to Iconoclassic Records. Follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Main Menu

Hot Tuna

Deluxe Edition

Deluxe Edition Remastered 2 CD | ICON 1030

  • Originally released 1970
  • 2 CD deluxe edition of Hot Tuna’s 1970 debut
  • 18 bonus tracks, including a previously unreleased, complete show
  • Remastered by Vic Anesini
  • Liner notes by Jefferson Airplane biographer Jeff Tamarkin
Out of Print

CD 1 Track Listing

  • 1. Hesitation Blues
  • 2. How Long Blues
  • 3. Uncle Sam Blues
  • 4. Don't You Leave Me Here
  • 5. Death Don’t Have No Mercy
  • 6. Know You Rider
  • 7. Oh Lord
  • Search My Heart
  • 8. Winin' Boy Blues
  • 9. New Song (For the Morning)
  • 10. Mann’s Fate

Bonus Tracks

  • 11. Keep Your Lamps Trimmed and Burning
  • 12. Candy Man
  • 13. True Religion
  • 14. Belly Shadow
  • 15. Come Back Baby

CD 2 Track Listing

  • 1. Winin' Boy Blues
  • 2. Death Don't Have No Mercy
  • 3. Keep on Truckin’
  • 4. Come Back Baby
  • 5. Uncle Sam Blues
  • 6. Know You Rider
  • 7. That'll Never Happen No More
  • 8. How Long Blues
  • 9. True Religion
  • 10. Don’t You Leave Me Here
  • 11. Candy Man
  • 12. Sea Child
  • 13. Keep Your Lamps Trimmed And Burning


  • Jorma Kaukonen – acoustic guitar, vocals
  • Jack Casady – bass
  • Will Scarlett – harmonica

When RCA Records encouraged the Jefferson Airplane’s Jorma Kaukonen and Jack Casady to record a series of dates they were performing as a duo they jumped at the opportunity. Little did either man realize that these dates, recorded live at the New Orleans House in Berkeley, CA, would lead to a more than 40-year association as Hot Tuna. These mostly acoustic performances of blues standards sprinkled in with some original songs would form the basis for Hot Tuna performances over many years to come.

This Deluxe Edition is graced with five additional songs that originally expanded the album on the box set, Hot Tuna In a Can. The second disc consists of the entire set that was performed on the evening of September 19, 1969, which has remained completely unreleased until now. Mastered by Vic Anesini with an informative essay from Airplane biographer Jeff Tamarkin.