Iconoclassic Records

Skip to content

Welcome to Iconoclassic Records. Follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Main Menu

Graham Parker

Deepcut to Nowhere

Remastered LP + 7" | ICON 1071

  • Originally released 2001
  • First time on LP worldwide
  • Limited edition of 1000 pieces
  • New liner notes by Graham Parker
  • Includes the fan favorites “Blue Horizon,” “I’ll Never Play Jacksonville Again,” and “Socks ‘N’ Sandals”
  • Packaged as an LP with bonus 7” single
  • Remastered for vinyl by the album’s original co-producer and engineer, Dave Cook
Pre Order

Track Listing

  • LP Side 1
  • 1. Dark Days
  • 2. I’ll Never Play Jacksonville Again
  • 3. If It Ever Stops Rainin’
  • 4. Depend On Me

  • LP Side 2
  • 5. High Horse
  • 6. Cheap Chipped Black Nails
  • 7. Blue Horizon
  • 8. Tough On Clothes

  • 7” Side 1
  • 9. Socks ‘N’ Sandals
  • 10. It Takes a Village Idiot

  • 7” Side 2
  • 1. Syphilis & Religion
  • 2. Last Stop Is Nowhere


  • Graham Parker - Vocals, Backing Vocals, Acoustic & Electric Guitar, Lap Steel, Harmonica
  • Steve Goulding - Drums, Percussion, Backing Vocals
  • Pete Donnelly - Bass, Backing Vocals
  • Professor “Louie” - Keyboards, Accordion
  • Dave Cook - Mandolin and Jews Harp

Graham Parker’s fifteenth studio album, Deepcut to Nowhere, was first released by the independent label Razor & Tie in 2001.

Parker recalls, “Within weeks after the release date of Deepcut to Nowhere, I was up early driving from New York State to Boston on what seemed like the most beautiful day in the history of autumn, to rehearse with the Figgs for a festival in Oregon, slated for a few weeks later, followed by a tour to support the album. That day was September 11th, 2001.”

In the aftermath of the attacks, Parker comments, “The press members I spoke to could barely get past the first track on Deepcut to Nowhere, ‘Dark Days,’ asking me if I was some kind of ‘seer,’ or had a mysterious crystal ball. Followed by ‘I’ll Never Play Jacksonville Again,’ the opening salvos of the album seemed to capture imminent trauma, but of course, I was just writing songs.”

As the 12-song set progresses, Parker’s focus expands to include the nostalgic “Blue Horizon” (“as emotionally rich a song as I’ll ever write”), a dark-humored take on the evils of colonialism (“Syphilis and Religion”), and the indignity of wearing socks with sandals. Taken together, Deepcut to Nowhere is among Parker’s finest and most varied collections of songs, several of which have gone on to become setlist staples.

Deepcut to Nowhere, originally released on CD only, finally makes its worldwide LP debut.