The Isley Brothers
It's Our Thing

The Isley Brothers left Motown in 1968 and re-launched their T-Neck label through Buddah Records early the following year. This album was the first release for their revived imprint and it celebrated the group's newfound artistic freedom in the album's title. The album became a smash as the single "It's Your Thing" rose all the way to #1 on the R&B charts. "It's Your Thing" was one of the fastest rising singles in Buddah's history, and was only kept out of the Top Pop slot by the 5th Dimension's unstoppable "The Age of Aquarius/Let the Sunshine In." The RIAA logged it as a gold-seller, Buddah claimed it as selling two million, but CBS (which Buddah sub-contracted for manufacturing to keep up with the heavy demand) confessed to the Isleys years later that they'd pressed up something south of six million!

The success of that single catapulted the It's Our Thing album all the way to #22 on the pop album charts. The band's instincts to move towards a funkier feel and a more prominent horn section appeared to intersect perfectly with popular tastes at the end of the sixties. The album kicks off with two similar sounding sequels to "It's Our Thing" – "I Know Who You Been Socking It To" and "Somebody's Been Messin' (With My Thing)." Of course, they included "It's Your Thing"'s super slick James Brown-influenced B-side "Don't Give It Away" and another JBs-esque crowd pleaser titled "Give the Women What They Want." A lighter shade of soul was represented in "I Must Be Losing My Touch" and "He's Got Your Love." And there were a couple of heavy slow jams that gave Ronald a sho-nuff shot to sing the blues. First was the lonesome moan "Save Me," followed by the gentle romance primer "Love Is What You Make It." Deepest of all is the song that closed Side 1 of the LP: "Feels Like The World." Seeming to channel the spirit of the great Bobby Blue Bland, Ronald ruthlessly builds the lowdown vamp to an ever-escalating boil.

It's Our Thing has never before been issued as a stand-alone CD.

Track Listing:
1. I Know Who You Been Socking It To
2. Somebody's Been Messin'
3. Save Me
4. I Must Be Losing My Touch
5. Feel Like The World
6. It's Your Thing
7. Give The Women What They Want
8. Love Is What You Make It
9. Don't Give It Away
10. He's Got Your Love

The ethos of Iconoclassic Records is perfectly captured in the company's name. Iconoclassic Records reissues classic titles by iconic artists, many of whom have handled their careers in an uncompromising, iconoclastic manner.

A CD reissue label focused on rock, pop, and R&B music of the 1970s and '80s, Iconoclassic Records specializes in notable albums that have never been released on CD, as well as classic titles that have fallen out of print. [more]
Are the CDs remastered?
Yes, all Iconoclassic Records CDs are digitally remastered from the original master tapes by award winning engineers, such as Grammy® winner Vic Anesini, who remastered Laura Nyro's Nested and Season of Lights. Check out photos from the mastering session on the Nested album page.

Are the original album graphics included in the packaging?
Yes, Iconoclassic reproduces all the imagery and text from the original LP front and back covers and inner sleeves. In addition, we frequently add newly written liner notes and additional photographs from the appropriate time periods.  [more]