Laura Nyro

Originally released in 1978, Nested marked a departure from Laura Nyro's acclaimed early work ("Wedding Bell Blues," "Eli's Comin'"), with its lyrical focus on impending motherhood and a more organic sound. Across Nested's 10 self-penned tracks, Nyro also reviews her up-and-down love life, rails against music business greed, and muses on the nature of the universe, backed by instrumental contributions from John Sebastian (The Lovin' Spoonful), Felix Cavaliere (The Rascals), Vinnie Cusano (KISS's Vinnie Vincent), Tony Levin, and Andy Newmark, among others. Largely ignored or misunderstood upon initial release, Nested, Nyro's eighth album, can now be heard as the fulcrum on which her early and later career pivoted.

Nested is ripe for reappraisal as one of Laura Nyro's most personal, moving, and artistically successful projects.

The new CD reissue of Nested from Iconoclassic Records presents the definitive version of this important musical work. In addition to faithfully reproducing all the elements from the original LP (including lyrics), the Iconoclassic reissue adds an incisive new 1,200 word essay by Michelle Kort, author of the definitive Laura Nyro biography Soul Picnic: The Music and Passion of Laura Nyro. Additional photographs of Nyro by acclaimed fashion photographer Adger W. Cowans, who shot the original album cover, enrich the package. The CD is mastered by Grammy Award
®-winning engineer Vic Anesini, making Nested a warm, inviting sonic experience befitting its lyrical theme.

Track Listing:
1. Mr. Blue (The Song of Communications)
2. Rhythm & Blues
3. My Innocence
4. Crazy Love
5. American Dreamer
6. Springblown
7. The Sweet Sky
8. Light
9. Child in a Universe
10. The Nest

Click icon to preview tracks from Laura Nyro - Nested.
Click icon to view photos from inside the Nested remastering session, with Grammy® Award winning engineer Vic Anesini.

Nested CD Booklet/Inserts:

The ethos of Iconoclassic Records is perfectly captured in the company's name. Iconoclassic Records reissues classic titles by iconic artists, many of whom have handled their careers in an uncompromising, iconoclastic manner.

A CD reissue label focused on rock, pop, and R&B music of the 1970s and '80s, Iconoclassic Records specializes in notable albums that have never been released on CD, as well as classic titles that have fallen out of print. [more]
Are the CDs remastered?
Yes, all Iconoclassic Records CDs are digitally remastered from the original master tapes by award winning engineers, such as Grammy® winner Vic Anesini, who remastered Laura Nyro's Nested and Season of Lights. Check out photos from the mastering session on the Nested album page.

Are the original album graphics included in the packaging?
Yes, Iconoclassic reproduces all the imagery and text from the original LP front and back covers and inner sleeves. In addition, we frequently add newly written liner notes and additional photographs from the appropriate time periods.  [more]