The Guess Who

"The Rockin' album…best GW time of my entire GW time…we started getting drum sounds about noon on Monday, and we turned in the finished, mixed masters about 3 p.m. on Friday."
- Burton Cummings

Rockin', originally released in 1972, represented a back-to-basics album for The Guess Who. Recorded and mixed in just four and a half days of what were often live-in-the-studio sessions, Rockin' captures the band at its loosest, cracking jokes, remembering songs from their youth, and demonstrating the casual brilliance that marked one of rock's finest and most underrated ensembles.

The twin-guitars of Kurt Winter and Greg Leskiw power one of The Guess Who's hardest rocking releases. Yet in true early '70s Guess Who fashion, Rockin' features an all-inclusive definition of rock, from the heavy riffs of opening track and single "Heartbroken Bopper," the '50s-styled boogies "Get Your Ribbons On" and "Running Bear," the harmony-driven "Smoke Big Factory," the socially conscious "Guns, Guns, Guns," and the psychedelic multipart suite that closed the original album.

A longtime cult-favorite among their fans, The Guess Who's Rockin' has been augmented with two previously unreleased bonus tracks including "Lost Sheep," a dry run for the "Hi Rockers!" medley that arguably betters its originally released counterpart. This limited edition reissue from Iconoclassic Records has been digitally remastered from the original master tapes by Vic Anesini and features extensive liner notes with new interviews and song commentary from all of the living band members, as well as producer Jack Richardson.

Track Listing:
1. Heartbroken Bopper
2. Get Your Ribbons On
3. Smoke Big Factory
4. Arrivederci Girl
5. Guns, Guns, Guns
6. Running Bear
7. Back To The City
8. Your Nashville Sneakers
9. Herbert's A Loser
10. Hi Rockers!: Sea Of Love, Heaven Only Moved Once Yesterday, Don't You Want Me

Bonus Tracks:
11. Sea Of Love (Previously Unreleased)
12. Lost Sheep (Previously Unreleased)

The ethos of Iconoclassic Records is perfectly captured in the company's name. Iconoclassic Records reissues classic titles by iconic artists, many of whom have handled their careers in an uncompromising, iconoclastic manner.

A CD reissue label focused on rock, pop, and R&B music of the 1970s and '80s, Iconoclassic Records specializes in notable albums that have never been released on CD, as well as classic titles that have fallen out of print. [more]
Are the CDs remastered?
Yes, all Iconoclassic Records CDs are digitally remastered from the original master tapes by award winning engineers, such as Grammy® winner Vic Anesini, who remastered Laura Nyro's Nested and Season of Lights. Check out photos from the mastering session on the Nested album page.

Are the original album graphics included in the packaging?
Yes, Iconoclassic reproduces all the imagery and text from the original LP front and back covers and inner sleeves. In addition, we frequently add newly written liner notes and additional photographs from the appropriate time periods.  [more]